Recently I have noticed that few of my friends have visited a restaurant named Yum Cha. The dishes that are being served have sparked my interest to stop by this restaurant and try out its unique menu, and most importantly, I liked the idea how this restaurant has been named after a Cantonese phrase. (fyi – Yum Cha is a Cantonese phrase for Chinese style brunch, where dim sum and Chinese tea are usually being served.)

Located in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui and just a street away from Knutsford Terrace, is a perfect place to stop by for a meal and head out for a drink afterwards. (yet another bonus of why I’ve decided to stop by!)

Anyways! Here are a few dishes I would like to lead you all to, and my impression towards the experience x

Baked crispy pineapple puff
img_5131
I quite like the idea of using the shape of pigeons and recreate it to a dim sum, but I think the portion of shortbread dough is way too much comparing to the filling itself!

Drunken chicken
img_5132
I am an absolute fan of chicken and I must say – this is one of the best drunken chicken dish I have ever had!

Hot custard molten buns
img_5135
One of the most popular dishes in the restaurant; does not taste different than regular custard buns, but how cute is it when it is created into a little creature for us to play with!

Green tea custard molten buns
img_5139

BBQ piggy buns
img_5143

Steamed rose floret buns
img_5137
Totally overrated! I personally would not recommend these buns as they are just normal steam buns and they may fill up your quota in just minutes!

Double boiled soup
img_5141

Pomegranate & curly kale
img_5142
Interesting how they pair pomegranate with Chinese kale! Tastes delicious yet refreshing.

In my own POV, I think this restaurant deserves credit on creativeness for their concept; but the dishes turned out less than what I have expected.
I would definitely revisit Yum Cha, but I guess I won’t be having the buns for next visit!

Details:
Name: Yum Cha
Location: 3/F, 20-22 Granville Road, Tsim Sha Tsui
Contact: +852 2751 1666
Business Hours: Monday to Sunday 11:30-15:00, 18:00-23:00

Featured image credits:
@samishome (instagram)

Leave a Reply

